Modern technology advances have paved the way for the popularity of working and studying from home

IELTS WRITING TASK 2: WORKING AND STUDYING FROM HOME

THREAD: Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

ANSWER:

In our day and age, technology advances have paved the way for the popularity of working and studying from home. From my perspective, this trend has advantages as well as disadvantages.

On the one hand, working and studying from home are worldwide prevalence because it is considered by many to provide us with flexibility and convenience. For example, people who do freelance pointed out that they would have total control of their working environment. They have the freedom to choose where and when they want to work. Moreover, they can save a large amount of time commuting back and forth to work because most of their time was spent on working at home, not at an office. Another reason is that we are currently facing the Covid-19 pandemic, which caused numerous deaths around the world. Many facilities such as schools, workplaces, factories, etc were closed. Therefore, for students to keep up with their work during this social distance, online courses are necessary.

On the other hand, there are still several disadvantages of this trend. For one, working and studying from home require high levels of discipline and commitment. However, many students find it hard to concentrate entirely on their online courses. They might easily get distracted by things like movies, online games, etc. Furthermore, while some people were working at home for a long time, they would have less chance to interact and communicate directly with their colleagues and clients . As a result, it is difficult to develop social skills like communication, or teamwork skills.

In conclusion, although working and studying from home have some spiritual benefits for individuals during social distancing, there are also several problems that we should take into consideration.