IELTS 2 - Modern Technology influence on access to important data

Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to and exchange of information. Far from being benefical, this is a danger to our societies. What are your views?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Answer

It is true that advanced development of technology eases people in the fast access and global sharing of information. On the other hand, some argue that easy access of information is rather a threat to our communities. While I accept that technology might harm our society, I believe that certain measures can be performed to overcome the harmfulness of global technology.

Internet is one of the technology that has made people compliant. It has a tremendous impact to the people globally. They can share or get information in convenient using computers or smartphones. Social media is one of the examples of where people exchange information including photos and videos. Family, relatives or friends can easily share their experiences daily through social media.

On the other hand, others argue that easy access of information can be dangerous for them. The internet is not always a secure place to keep specific information, such as business data that requires major security. They feel unsecured of any possible certain things that might occur if this highly important and confidential data fall into offenders, such as criminals or hackers. People also concern about internet because their underage children might access adult contents and harm their mental health.

Nevertheless, although I agree that latest technology could be harmful, there are preventive ways to avoid the negative outcomes of internet. For instance, use internet protection for securing confidential information and internet filter to avoid children from accessing harmful contents. Thus, we still can gain benefit of utilizing the advantage of latest technology without getting worried of any negative impacts that it might cause.