IELTS : Have modern ways of preparing food improved the way people live?

Nowadays, food has become easier to prepare. Has this change improved the way people live?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Food is a necessity for all live organisms. Perhaps since the time human evolved and learned the way to cook food, it has been considered the most challenging task for many people. Nowadays, the modern technologies have also affected our conventional ways of cooking food along with many other changes in our lifestyle. I believe that this change has introduced many benefits to us and in rest of the essay I will discuss its significance on our life.

First, modern way of cooking food is less time consuming and requires minimum attention. Latest household appliances such as microwave ovens, electric stoves and smart ovens have lessened the efforts in preparing the food. These appliances often come with timers and alarms so the food does not need a full time attention. This has given us a lot of time to relax or perform other activities.

Second, many food items and spices are readily available in market these days. These ready-made items do not only eliminate the extra work of pealing and chopping them but also get cooked very fast. Frozen vegetables and pizzas are the mostly seen examples of the ready-to-cook items. The real importance of these items can be seen in the families where cooking is done by persons who live on their own and do not have external help to prepare their meals.

To summarize, I believe that the modern way of preparing food has saved a lot of efforts and time.