In a modern world people always face the dilemma to own a car. Perspective for the next 20 years.

IN TWENTY YEARS THERE WILL BE FEWER CARS IN USE THAN THERE ARE TODAY

In a modernized world people always face the dilemma to own a car. Certainly, some people if asked would agree with the statement that people will use more cars in their daily life while others would mention that the question depends on a great deal of factors. As far as I'm concerned, I adopt a firm position that the number of cars will decrease in twenty years.

First of all, it's important to consider the shortage of fuel. Certainly, some people may think that there are enough fuel reservoirs that could supply peoplefor centuries . However, in most cases the resources of fuel is getting depleted. To illustrate that idea let's consider the following example. I remember that in Southern Turkey most of the reservoirs run out of petroleum and our government started to import from Iraq. This in turn affected the cost of the fuel and people started to use the public transportation more than before. As you can see, shortage of oil affected the usage of private cars and people started to use public transportation.

Equally important is that gas emissions polluted the air.Of course, for some people in some situations, car companies use scientific methods to control the gas emissions.. However, it would be fair to say that for most people cars heavily pollute the air and this causes the health problems. Take a case of Turkey in which there were some protests organized by some health NGOs. They protested that gas emissions causes some respiratory illnesses and these cause people to suffer serious helth problems to theend of their lives. This experience taught Turkish government to measure the sales of cars and urged to take some precautions to prevent this problem.Now in Tukey, a familiy is allowed to buy only one car. As it is clear, due to the the health problems caused by car emissions governments started to control the carsales

Finally, car prices are very high . I'll be first to admit that car prices doubled in last two years. Despite this possibility,some people may assert that high prices did not reduce the sales. By way of example, I can remember that there were more used-cars advertisements on internet site which is called Sahibinden. But when I check this site for used-cars, I see that there are less advertisements. Because in Turkey, the cars which are over twenty years old are not allowed to be used and the price of the new cars are very high due to the taxes.So, reduction in the number of the used cars and high prices of the new cars reduced the number of cars in Turkey. I think that this is the case for many other countries as well.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I'm of the opinion that in most cases there will be less cars in Turkey in twenty years. Not only will be affected by oil shortages and air pollution but also high price of the cars. That's why everyone should consider that there will be a surge in the number of the people who will use public transportation.