IELTS. 'the money should be better spent' - Wasteful Space Program - Agree or disagree

Governments spend millions of dollars each year on their space programmes.Most recently, Mars is the focus of scientists' attention.

Some people think this money would be better spent on dealing with problems closer to home. Do you agree or disagree?

Although developing the space programmes indicates that the country which is concerned to space is rich, the government may help people as many as possible if having much money. I agree with the idea that the money should be better spent on dealing with problems closer to home.

Some people argue that the government should use money for welfare. This is because the difference between rich and poor is extending, so it is hard for poor to live in daily life and the power of nation is declining. Administration has the obligation that the difference shrinks and every people can enjoy their life. The United States and the USSR face deficit because of spending money for their space programs too much.

On the other hand, the opponent argue that the government ought to promote developing space programmes. Exploitation is meaningful for people to be rich in the future. In fact, mobile phone is available all over the world because there is satellite in space. Achieving space programmes is helping our daily life. However, the government have to spend money noticing the balance between space programmes and welfare.

In conclusion, I believe it is useful for many people to be spent on dealing with welfare and medical care. Governments should tackle with their space programmes with energy to spare.