IELTS WRITING TASK 2: IS MONEY THE MOST IMPORTANT FACTOR TO MOTIVATE PEOPLE TO STAY IN THE WORKFORCE

is money the key consideration for taking a job?

It is true that plenty of elements have influences on driving workers into different directions of their career path. While some argue that money is the key consideration, I personally disagree with the idea. I believe that employees are increasingly refusing to keep up with the traditional trajectory where stable works with corresponding cumulative salaries are appreciated and instead pursuing multistage employment where they can develop professional expertise.

In early stages of a career, workers, especially to graduated students and novices, have a propensity to take money into no consideration, yet prioritize personal development and working experiences. This period is about to set a milestone for long-term career development and even maximize their potentials provided that they are in the right paths. To be more specific, if they are trained under guidance of supportive colleagues or accommodated with necessary facilities, they are able to widen their knowledge. This is by far the fastest way to be expert in their fields and a great income now comes as an inevitable prize of devotion. On the contrary, workers would miss many opportunities in case they are on the economic side right in the first place.

In later stages of a career, workers tend to stick with jobs that can actually bring grant value. Because they have years of accruing in both financial and professional terms, the jobs at which they are aiming have to meet their aspirations. It is worth noting that those desires can be not for themself, but for social benefit. For example, senior software engineers try to create applications that can facilitate the handicapped with outstanding functions even though it is a niche market and rarely make a profit.

In conclusion, I do not think money can outweigh other motivators in affecting people's choice of profession.