IELTS: Why money should not be spent on finding life on other planets

IS SPACE RESEARCHING WORTH BIGGER INVESTMENT?

In the future, it seems more difficult to live on Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planets to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that more money should be allocated to the searching of life on other planets in the future due to the predicted degradation of the surface and atmosphere of the Earth. I am strongly opposed to this idea.

First, there is little reason to spend more money on finding a new home for mankind in the universe when the Earth's condition can be improved by many viable solutions. For the water, the establishment of filtering systems will stop the spreading of garbage and toxic chemicals. Take Singapore for example, since the application of such systems in factories, the quality of water of this country has incredibly become cleaner. For the atmosphere, protecting and growing trees in large scales will help reduce air pollution. Likewise, Singaporeans are benefitted with fresh air thanks to the government's campaign to preserve a huge national forest.

Moreover, the possibility of finding evidence of life on other planets still remains a complete uncertainty. So far, numerous attempts by the scientists have failed to identify the existence of oxygen on the closest planet, Mars. The latest project of SpaceX confirms that there is no source of air available on Mars. Therefore, investing in this searching mission is quite impractical at this moment and even in the future.

Lastly, the amount of money required to relocate the entire mankind to another planet would be unimaginable if such a desirable place was discovered. The spaceship which carried only two pilots to Mars in 2012 cost almost 1 billion USD. If a planet with survivability was found, the cost of transporting human would be thousands of times multiplied.

In conclusion, I believe that money should not be spent on researching other planets as the ambition to send human away from Earth is far from reach. Instead, saving the Earth from future degradation is still possible.