Too much money has been used in conserving wild animals - IELTS test

Topic:

Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given in the protection of wild animals and birds.

Do you agree or disagree about this opinion?

Answer:

The majority of people consider that too much money has been used in conserving wild animals and birds, which also attract a great amount of attention from the public. I agree entirely with this statement as it is crucial for us to pay attention and budget to maintain the wildlife ecosystem.

To begin with, it is such reasonable funding to protect wild animals since it greatly prevents the loss of biodiversity. Due to the fact that, there are plenty of mass extinctions throughout the development of humankind that are caused by human activities, such as the process of industrialization, urbanization and population growth. This problem is often neglected since to satisfy the demands of living standards, the authorities only focus on other urgent problems that bring them short-term profitably effects. Meanwhile, wild animals could be on verge of extinction, but very few actions have been done to respond to this issue. Having made more efforts to preserve these kinds of species as they play a key role in maintaining biodiversity. Being fully aware of protecting wild animals and birds might help us sustain our natural ecosystem.

Furthermore, having given such a large amount of money can support authorities to raise awareness of protecting wild animals. In the past, overhunting and exotic animal trade tended to be common, leading to the loss of several exotic species. However, attributing this to the efforts of the public and government, this tendency has decreased significantly. Thanks to this, humankind has been given a wake to their general ignorance in the past. Having been aware of these serious detriments, the government has funded an enormous budget to contribute to preserve the wild animals.

To sum up, it is acceptable that the government spends such mass funding to bring us sustainable biodiversity and also encourages us to have a full awareness in conserving wildlife.