motherhood (Motherhood is Amazing)

I believe being a mother is the most extraordinary gift, yet most challenging to overcome. It's all about responsibility, endless commitment, and rewards harvested beyond what anyone could imagine. I have changed as a person as I became a mother.

We take on enormous amounts of responsibility for a child once becoming a mother. Always making sure the child is fed to his means, not yours. Having warm clothes and a clean body is important. Doctor's appointments seem to reoccur every few weeks to every few months and we have to make sure shots are up to date and that our child is healthy. Our child relies on us to make them happy. A child is dependant on us to feel safe and secure in every environment. As a care taker, being responsible for you mentally and physically is a must. After giving birth it seems to be all about the baby. There is mommy time and then there is "me" time. Everyone needs "me time." Motherhood is endless dedication to your child. That child belongs to you and only you. Contributing to the well being of your child is your number one priority.

There are many rewards to being a mom. Waking up to that wonderful smile, or getting a giant hug just because he wants too. When your child says the most unusual things that make you laugh till you cry. That child loves you from the moment he comes out of you. Those eyes stare at you and analyse your every move. Watching your child grow into an adult and become someone successful, you feel successful. These are the little things that you can never attain from anyone else. That feeling of giving and receiving eternal love to another person is so powerful and self gratifying.

Nevertheless there are many challenges when raising a child. In the early morning hours, waking up to the loud shrill of a baby crying just because he wants a bottle. Making a choice to take a day off work when bills are due; to stay home and take care of a child who is sick with the flu. Not able to find a babysitter just for a few hours to take time for yourself. Your house is a disaster because your child wants to play and read books with you instead of watching you clean. All you want to do is sleep an extra ten minutes, but your son is crawling all over you, pulling your hair, pinching your nose, and biting your arm. Heart wrenching ache goes through your body as you leave your child at day care for the first time. When you walk out he reaches his hands out for you and cries. These are only a few of the experiences.

After becoming a mother, I believe it changes you as a person. Your patience may rise. Your attitude becomes warm and inviting. You fight for your child and defend him in situations that he gets into, good or bad. A feeling to become successful and achieve something in life becomes important. You make friends with other moms and some how become a home body who rarely wants to go out. When having conversations it seems that all you want to talk about is how your child went potty on the toilet, or how he took his first steps. Bravery is then holding your son down as he gets a shot. Picking a booger out of your childs nose is an everyday thing and is not so gross to you anymore. You think your child is the most perfect being in the world, even if other people do not agree.

Motherhood is amazing. Most mothers would say they wouldn't change it for anything in the world. I agree with all of them. Challenges arise and you overcome them, it maybe a bit of a battle but you find a way. The rewards are infinite. All the tribulations and hard work are worth it in the end. Life somehow feels complete.