TOEFL Essay-Movies should present positive values. Y or N ?

TOPIC :Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television programs should present stories in which good people are rewarded and bad people are punished

Over the past few decades, no one can deny that movies and television programs have become indispensable parts of our daily life. And a question may be laid on whether films and television dramas should present stories in which the evil are punished and good men have a happy ending. As for me, the answer is positive.

First, some movies or television programs are imposing a considerable influence on youngsters. In fact, children and teenagers are especially vulnerable to the negative effect from the media such as gratuitous violence and distorted values. Furthermore, kids frequently consider main characters as their role models, mimicking them either consciously or unconsciously. For instance, a gangster film was really popular with the young people decades ago. The character, wearing smart clothes, driving a sports car, and living in a villa, was envied by teenagers. Moreover, being so powerful and rich that the gangsters were able to "do away with" anyone they hated on a whim without the punishment from the law enforcements. All of this seemed to be really a temptation to young people. Worse still, very often they regarded these gang leaders in the movie as "role models", trying very hard to imitate the way those gangsters acted in the movie. Soon they became ill-tempered and vented the rages against innocent people. Thus, what I have discussed above obviously illustrated negative impacts of movies and televisions toward the young people if the media fail to present healthy values in their works.

Secondly, watching films and television dramas is generally considered to be a wonderful way for people to obtain some relaxation. If the evil, in the stories, prevails and good men end up badly, audiences are unlikely to feel good after watching these works. In fact, happy endings are always expected by most of people who intend to watch the films or programs at the very beginning. Media, thus, should fulfill people's expectations, making them feel a sense of fulfillment and happiness. The US Today, a prestigious newspaper in America, also acknowledged the point last year, with a poll showing that nearly 83% of respondents tended to be more delighted when watching the films or television dramas in which heroes succeeded. Screenwriters, therefore, should present more positive values that the good are rewarded while the bad punished in their work, aiming at satisfying most of the audiences, after all, we pay to watch.

To sum up, not only has the media exerted a profound impact on the teenagers, but also it is a wonderful way for people to relieve themselves. Consequently, screenwriters have the responsibilities to show more positive and healthy values on their works.