Multicultural societies are becoming more and more popular due to...

Hi guys! I'm Edna, 17 and I'm from Vietnam :)

Please check out my essay and tell me what should be improved. Any advice or feedback would be appreciated and thanks in advance :x

Multicultural societies are becoming more and more popular due to increasing globalization. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a multicultural society. (Write an essay of 300 words and support your position with specific examples.)

Multiculturalism is where a variety of many different ethnic groups live together within the same society. In a multicultural society, there is not an official culture that every person must be a part of but all cultures are respected equally. In general, a multicultural society is formed when people from many different countries all migrate to one place. So what are the positive sides and what are the negative ones when living and working in a multicultural society?

Through multiculturalism, we have opened our minds and have had the opportunities to expose to many different things. Plus the country has benefits from it economically in many ways. What is more, living in such a society makes people more tolerant of each other, even if they are from very different backgrounds. Moreover, in a multicultural society, individuals are able to practice any religion they choose. They can wear what they want, eat what they like and can be able to practice their customs.

However, living in a country with different cultural values you are likely to experience conflicting beliefs. Futhermore, everything we see around us has been influenced in some ways by different cultures - our clothes, daily routine, music, food, art, sport are all as they have been mixed without distinctive cultural features.

In conclusion, there will always be those who claim that multiculturalism has taken away a particular national identity. To my mind, national identity is never fixed and everyone has their own integration of what belongs to their nations. And globalization means that it is clearly better for individuals to be familiar with different cultures.