IELTS essay about Multitasking, problems and solutions

In the modern world, many people tend to multitask. What problems might this cause ? Suggest some ways to overcome it.

Multitasking is sometimes hailed by most people as a welcome skill. However, performing several tasks at once can lead to many problems. In this essay, I will discuss some of these problems and recommend remedial helps to overcome it.

To begin with, it is often argued that working on several tasks simultaneously adversely affect young people's performance at university and in the workplace. Clearly when people are juggling a large array of gadgets as they study, while surfing the net, sending emails or listening to music, they might lose the concentration required to adequately complete one item. As a result, they are not able to perform well their work, for example, making mistakes in the business report. Another serious implication of being able to multitask is that it could possibly take a toll on the way the families themselves function. Since young adults nowadays are too self-absorbed and wrapped up in their isolated world with electrical devices, they hardly interact with other family members or eat at the family table. Indeed, this may harm the family attachment.

Nevertheless, there are some sufficient measures to tackle this issue. First of all, making a list-to-do jobs then prioritizing them will enable you to accomplish all the tasks with productivity and avoid missing any items. It also prevents you from excessive stimulation that bombards you on a daily basis. Furthermore, people should take control over technology, which means they should refrain modern gadgets like Ipad and checking emails all the time while they are studying and working.

In conclusion, multitasking might pose many negative effects that impair people's lives. I firmly believe that, among various solutions, each individuals will have their own approaches to resolve this issue.