Museums and art galleries? Everyone can observing artifacts and artistic creations in the internet

IELTS writing task 2: museums and art galleries

Some people claim that museums and art galleries are not needed today, because everyone can see historical objects or art works by computer. Do you agree or disagree?

In the age of information technology, many people believe that observing artefacts and artistic creations in the internet can lead to disappearance of historical houses and art halls. Personally, I completely disagree with this view.

First of all, it is true that thanks to internet artefacts and paintings can all be accessed freely and almost instantly at the touch of a key on a computer keyboard, but modern technology can never offer us firsthand experience, like museums and art exhibition do. Some objects displayed in these places are not only available for viewing but also for touching and sometimes even trying, which can not be performed when seeing an object on a computer screen. Thanks to these experiences people can immerse in the atmosphere of historical events and fathom the story behind former heritages and pieces of creations. Therefore, it would be an immense loss if such places were to close their doors to the public.

Secondly, memorial houses and art museums are not only places for contemplating artistic masterpieces but also symbol of history and culture of humanity. Visiting these places can remind young generation of civilization and development our ancestors created. Moreover, outdoor activities like visiting museums and art galleries can be advantageous to people's flexibility. People can avoid obesity and monotonous life of staying at home with computer most of time. Museums and art galleries are also places for people to interact with the others having interests in common.

In conclusion, memorial houses and art halls are unreplaceable because of their meanings and experiences to human.