Should museums charge for admission? Benefits and drawbacks.

Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantage of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

museums and entrance fee

There is a large number of museums around the world, while some choose to charge their visitors for admission, some decided to remain free. My view is that it is more beneficial for museums to charge an entrance fee and in this essay I will explain why.

The first point to make is that there are some downsides to charing people for admission, but these are relatively minor. Firstly, the museum might have fewer visitors after they start charing people. It is possible for some people to think that the exhibition they held is not worth the money. On top of that, if the museum is free to enter, visitor are more likely to be willing to go to the same exhibition more than once. Secondly, if the purpose of a museum is to educate the public, it is considered to be accessible by everyone in the society. By requiring an entrance fee, it may become difficult for poor people to have a chance of going into the museum.

When we turn to the other side of the argument, there are also some points to make. Considering any museum needs money to run properly, an extra income will help holding exhibitions with better quality. With sufficient funds, the museum will also be able to hire more employees to maintain the space, set up exhibitions, or even do a public tour. The other point is that when money is charged, visitors tend to focus more on the experience they are having inside the museum, not taking it for granted. It is undeniable that some people go into the museum just to avoid the bad weather outside.

In conclusion, I understand the point of view of people who think museums should not charge any entrance fee. However, it is outweighed by the positive impact of charing visitor for admission.