IELTS Writing Task 2 - Many museums charge for admission while others are free

Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

A great number of museums charge for entrance, while others are complimentary. While paid admission puts resources to better use, free admission draws a larger crowd. I argue that the pros of charging a fee outweigh the cons.

On one hand, museums with a fee attract fewer people. This is because free entrance not only allows low-income earners to visit the place once but also multiple times. People who have limited interest in arts and culture are more likely to discover the museum during their leisure time. This will promote sales of charged areas inside the museum like restaurants and souvenir shops. Ultimately, it will increase the popularity of the institute and its exhibits without much advertising. For example, some museums in France open to the public for free during special occasions to showcase their national treasures.

On the other hand, paid admission places less strain on public resources and enhances guests' experience. A large portion of the expenses of a free museum is paid by the government and taxpayers. A museum with many visitors daily would need to allocate financial resources on its building repair, security and hygiene. It will be challenging to manage many visitors in the venue to minimize their nuisance to other viewers. Prolonged display of valuable art pieces would not be suitable since security is a concern. It will lower the diversity of the exhibits as only ordinary items are available. For example, British museums raise their fees regularly to optimize viewers' experience without putting much stress on the government budget.

In summary, a lot of museums require an admission fee, while others do not. Charging people for admission will require fewer public resources, and this outweighs the disadvantage of having fewer visitors.