IELTS 2-Many museums and historical sites are more attractive to foreigners than people living there

Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people.

Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

-------My work-----

It is true that many museums and historical sites are more attractive to foreigners than people living at there. This essay looks at some justifications and suggests some solutions to the problem.

One of the main reasons why people are keen on travelling to strange places is to expand the knowledge of history of local areas. The historic values are crystallized in tangible objects which are displayed in museums and historical places. Therefore, visiting museums is a necessary action tourists have to take if they care about history. By contrast, local citizens assumed that they were familiar with things showed at historical places through either the historic lessons in schools or somewhere in daily conversations. Moreover, the low qualification of some historical sites in some countries is also a cause assisting in decrease in the number of domestic visitors. As a result, local citizens are not interested in spending time on journeys to museums in their areas.

However, there are solutions for this problem. Firstly, marketing is an effective way to attract many domestic tourists. In fact that the knowledge of what happened to their forefathers is unlimited and there are still many historic events that next generations having not yet known. Advertising helps them to grasp those lacks. Secondly, governments should invest much more budget in improvement quality of historic places such as training for museum staffs about knowledge of history and how to convey or present it to visitors. As a result, there would be more and more local people reckon that the local museums and historical sites are also as interesting as those of foreign.

In conclusion, the lack of interest of domestic people in historic sites should be concerned considerably. The best approaches to deal with are the advertisement and the financial aid for the local sites.