IELTS TASK 2 : MUSEUMS AND HISTORICAL SITES ARE DOMINATED BY INTERNATIONAL TOURISTS

Many museums and history sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people why is this? What can we done to encourage people to visit museums and historical sites?

Every country has its own landmark. Obviously, its visitors are those who come from over the world, including local people. But in reality, many museums and history sites are dominated by international tourists rather than domestic one. The root cause of this problem is monotone condition and the most viable solution is adding new features or making a high season promotion.

Local people tend to find that museums and history sites are no longer attractive. By not attractive here, it means local government has done nothing to improve their conditions, such as adding a new collection or a new facility that can attract public's attention. A 2013 survey done in American Museum and Natural History reported that 62% of national visitors did not comeback again after their first visit because the main reason why they visited such museum was to fulfill their curiosities. Therefore, they would rather go to another place where they never been before than make the same visit for the second time.

It is generally believed that government is the one who can raise the number of native visitors in museum. Several approaches, like discounting in high season or adding new features can be represented as the best solution to tackle this problem. Many people are more likely to get bored if they visit the same place with the same condition. A study conducted by student of psychology in Leed University reveals that humans have a high tendency to experience a new thing. Once they have witnessed some events or places in their lives, there is a little possibility they want to do exactly the same thing in the future.

In conclusion, maintaining the same condition and collection in museums or historical sites can result in native dwellers being less motivated to visit them. However, this issue can be overcome by promotion and some new additional features.