'Nadie, Como Vai, and Pass the Peas songs' - examine three songs essay

I attended the San Jose State University Jazz Orchestra on March 21, 2012 at 7:30pm in the music concert hall. The concert had a special director, Wayne Wallace, and he played trombone. The SJSU Latin jazz ensemble collectively performed seven pieces during the concert, and played unique songs that can be seen as a works of art. Out of the many fabulous songs they have played, I chose to examine is the three songs called, "Nadie," "Como Vai," and "Pass the Peas."

The first song called "Nadie," performed by the jazz ensemble, was arranged by Wayne Wallace. I found this song to be exceptional because it blew me away. Firstly, all instruments alternated the melody as they enhanced the dynamics of the song. I noticed a texture change when the saxophone took over the melody. After that, the pianist, Nichole Boaz continued to join to the piece. Secondly, the guitar, the drums and other instruments were in accompaniment. Also, the rhythm, which was continuously steady, seemed to get faster like a heart beat by the climax of the song. Finally, it was getting louder until all instruments met at the top with a bang and then changed the dynamics again. This first piece was not long, but it set the excited mood of the song.

The second song was called "Como Vai" and it began with an energizing pianist named John Dandan. He played to the melody with a steady, smooth tempo. Accompanying him was Jon Reynolds on the trumpet, Sarah Davita Pyle on the flute, and Sherri Ross on the violin. The ensemble played this piece smoothly while the two saxophones, Chris Martinez and Oscar Pangilian played to separate melody. The instruments together were a delight to my ear. Altogether, I enjoyed the whole dynamic of the song because I liked how it began with a crescendo from soft to loud. I also liked how chachacha remained the same till the end of the song, and believed this enhances the experience and emotion of the entire piece.

The final song that I had enjoyed was called "Pass the Peas" by Charles Bobbit, James Brown, and John Starks. This song was rearranged by Wayne Wallace to be a rap song. Along with the vocalists and the piano, the bass, the drums, and heavy periodic sounds from the trombone blended together to create a heavenly piece. Similar to the previous song, I also liked the dynamics of this song because it started out blue form and then changed to rap when vocalists took turns to sing. They played the piece beautifully, and got the audience involved by making them not only see, but also feel the passion that the composer expresses through his work. In addition, this song has great lyrics and so I would love to listen to it over and over again.

As a result, the SJSU Latin Jazz Ensemble concert turned out to be an enjoyable event for me. I really loved this concert because it played great music that kept me intrigued throughout. I especially like the vocalists who sang "Pass the Peas" because their voices were very unique and strong. I also liked the sound of the saxophones because they brought out the soft, romantic, and excited feel of the songs. All in all, the performers were very good with playing their different instruments. I found that listening to this show was a worthwhile experience and would definitely go again.