Narrative: an exciting protagonist in Toy Story 2.

Hi I'm doing a Toy Story 2 narrative paper I hope someone is willing to help me edit this it's a fun paper to read.

The story is built around the protagonist in that the protagonist is always taking the initiative. In order to have a successful story you need an exciting protagonist in Toy Story 2 they had an exciting protagonist due to the fact that he was always taking the initiative and doing something. This is the very reason why the story was built around the protagonist; you're not going to have an exciting story if your protagonist isn't doing anything. Though in Toy Story 2 Woody is always taking the initiative and toughs actions have consequences and conflicts arise from these actions. Woody's decision to try to save Wheezy ended up in him getting stolen causing the initial incident, in which the toys had to go and save Woody. In this decision making choice you have a character that goes out of his way to go out and save someone else even though he didn't have to, which makes for a very interesting protagonist. As for the protagonist's objective the story is built around Woody's decisions because it's his desires, which dictates his choices and it's his choices which effect what's going to happen in the story. Initially Woody wants to be with Andy and he feels happy being with him and this discourages Jessie in that she will be put in a box again never to see the light of day again.

Also as a viewer there are moments where you get a sense of moving forward in that once he gets his arm back you as the audience think he's going back to Andy. Though when Jessie discusses her past relationship with Emily it causes Woody to think about his decision because he realizes that Andy is out growing him and he's growing bored of Woody. In this case the rising action is complicated because there is an introduction to the internal conflict because he has to choose between going back to Andy or going to Japan with his Roundup crew. Now all these decisions have something at stake which is what makes his decisions interesting, which makes him an interesting character. He wants go to with Andy though he would have to give up being with is Roundup crew and they would never see the light of day, he also wants to be with his gang, but in order to do that he can't go back with Andy so it's a lose, lose situation. Later he decides he's going to stay which his Roundup crew. This is where we see some examples of his character arc because his personality chanced resulting from events in the story. Woody realized if he returned Andy was going to outgrow him so he decides it's best to move on. Here we have a case of a dynamic character because initially his mindset was that he needed to be with Andy, but later on he thought to himself it wasn't the case and that he needed to move on.

The central conflict starts when Woody is stolen by Al so the other toys have to go out and save Woody. During this conflict their entire objective is to save Woody. The Story is based on what the characters are doing their actions, the characters objective is to save Woody and they want to save him, but in order to save him they need to leave the house and physically go to the location where Woody is. It's the actions that the characters take where they face their obstacles and physical barriers. They're toys so they can't be seen by humans so they constantly have to hide and come up with ways of getting to their destination for example hiding under the pylons to cross the street. Another conflict that is seen is when Woody is separated from Andy and he's trying to escape. He is being impeded by Al and the prospector since he doesn't want Woody to leave so he can be famous in Japan as a showcase toy in Japan. So here you have a situation of two conflicting characters Woody wants to go back and the prospector wants him to stay. You as the audience perceived a character as being something, which they're not in this case it was the prospector. Woody is faced with staying with Andy though his Roundup crew will never see the light of day or go with his Roundup gang and never see Andy again so there is something at stake. Though the supporting characters assist in rescuing Woody and they help in bringing Bullseye and Jessie with them so Woody gets to be with his Roundup friends and Andy at the same time.

As previously stated before both character and story are the same thing since your story is basically what your characters are doing. In Toy Story 2 the characters actions had consequences, which is important because if there weren't consequences it doesn't make for an interesting story in Toy Story 2 Woody takes a risk by saving Wheezy. Which led to him being stolen and the other toys had to save him. In this example Woody's action caused the initial incident, which was Woody being stolen by Al and the effect of that was that the Toys had to save him. In general the story moves along by the initial bomb which is when Woody gets stolen by Al, which is a direct effect of Woody's actions though in the end everything is back to normal minus Woody's new Roundup friends. Therefore we can conclude that the idea or theme of the story is that crime doesn't pay, since Al didn't make the big bucks from stealing Woody.