IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Why national leaders should spend more money on public transportation

reducing traffic congestion

Essay topics: Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have argued that the authorities should utilise their funds and budgets on developing streets and highways rather than on public transportation areas. As far as I concerned, the advantage of investing in public transport systems always outweighs that of remain option.

On the one hand, a group of people think that the government should focus on improving their street and highway facilities since several reasons. First of all, having a better quality of them would raise the levels of safety for people and clear traffics. To be more specific, adding and enlarging more lanes and routes make not only fluent traffic of means of transportation but also declining in road mortality and injury rates. Secondly, enhancing on road networks helps restrain traffic congestion. Because of broad roads, everyone has maximum free-flowing traffics instead of limit of moving in rush hour times from 8.00 AM to 4.00 PM in Ho Chi Minh city and it is an outstanding example.

Although, investing in road networks possesses immediately potential advantages, it can not be compared with public transport. First reason is that high-capacity public transport can accommodate larger number of passengers in comparison with vehicles at same time. Take a bus has double size towards a sedan could carry forty people instead of four spaces as an clear example. Finally, a mode shift from private to efficient public transport systems contributes to a green environment. Besides, taking public transit, carpool or riding a bicycle play a vital role in progressing of low-carbon lifestyle.

It is obvious to me to conclude that national leaders should spend money on public transportation is a potential step to come to the sustainable development for high quality of social life.