IELTS: Nature of Holidays is changing, do you agree or disagree

According to those in the travel business, the nature of the average 'holiday' is changing. Rather than seeking a relaxing break in a far-away place, people now want exitement on their holidays and are keen to participate in unusual and challenging activities.

Do you agree or disagree?

Holidays are important because they provide a break from work. In the past, people used to enjoy the break by going to a relaxing place in abroad, but these days many travel agents believe that this trend has been reduced. People are found more interested in spending the holidays in some exciting activity such as competitions and outdoor camping. I agree with the view and in rest of the essay I shall provide reasons to support my argument.

First, the modern work pattern has great impact on the nature of spending holidays these days. As now the usual day activities at work are more challenging, so this changes people's behaviour towards other activities which they carry in their daily life. For example, people are more competent at work and they prefer to excel in many things at a time. These people do not let their spirit die during holidays. Instead they join competitions of their interests to boost their confidence level. Dancing, singing, racing and cycling are some of the examples of the activities that are carried in order to raise the confidence level.

Secondly, the increasing cost of travel and visit to quiet, calm and peaceful place is also a reason behind the trend. The hotels are so expensive that families cannot think of going there. Moreover, these places have high cost of living for other matters as well such as food and travelling etc. Mostly people who save money throughout the year do not wish to spend their savings for the luxury of few days.

To summarize, after insight into the reasons I believe that many people are avoiding visits to relaxing places and involving into challenging activities these days.