It is necessary for children to learn both local and foreign literature

Please review my Ielts essay. Thank you very much!

Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries.

Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, teaching literature for children is a topic of interest that often divides opinion. While many people claim that children should be taught the local literarture instead of foreign literature, I believe that both types of literature play a crucial role in educating children.

On the one hand, national written works give learners a great deal of benefits. To begin with, learning locally written works would help children understand and treasure culture of their country. When students learn literature from local resources, they have the opportunity to become familiar with their own traditional, historical heriatges and national values which has been passed down from generation to generation. Take Thanh Giong, which is one of Vietnamese tales helps students know more about the period fight against foreign invaders. As a result, they could natuarally develop a sense of national identity and patriotism as well as be aware of their own responsibilty in developing their country. Furthermore, learning local literarture helps children enrich their linguistic knowledge in using their mother tongue and gives children ways to use their own language such as articulation, flexibility in using the vocabulary as well as improve their social communication.

On the other hand, studying foreign literature is also beneficial for students. Firstly, students will have a better overview of the world if they learn foreign literature and it brings students opportunities to exposure to cultures of other countries. For example, when reading The little Match-girl, the images of turkey, Christmas tree and candles bring students the image of atmosphere at Christmas night. Therefore, they would expand their horizons about exciting cultures all over the world. Secondly, it is an opportunity to prepare for children's ability to integrate into the outside world in order to avoid culture shock when studying and working with foreigners because it is necessary for children to develop in this era globalization.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is necessary for children to learn both local and foreign literature that help them develop comprehensively.