It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. IELTS task 2

learn about the various cultures by traveling

It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can learn just as much from books, films and the internet. Do you agree or disagree?

We can learn about different cultures through books, films and internet, making travelling to other places for a similar reason less important. I do not agree with this statement as cultures around the word represent the identity, emotions and a way of life of its people that can only be understood by experiencing it first-hand.

Reading books, watching movies or the internet cannot tell us everything about different cultures and traditions. For instance, the smell, flavour and texture of food cannot be explained without tasting it. Travelling introduces people to a new way of life through languages, habits and traditions. While one may be able to learn about different languages spoken but to truly understand the dialects, tone and accent one has to be present in that place. There are certain customs and traditions that are not permitted to be recorded by anyone and can only be witnessed by the people present.

Text, media and internet do not always provide a true and accurate account. They are the interpretations of a third person or persons experience which may be biased. An author is likely to negatively portray certain cultures if he/she does not agree with their practices. In addition, movies have limitation on how much information they can display in the set time. Similarly, most websites on the internet can be accessed and edited by numerous individuals. This makes their validity and accuracy questionable.

In conclusion I believe, it is only by visiting the actual place and its people that can authentically learn about the various cultures.