Negative influences of computers on children - essay

Q: Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children. Do you agree or disagree?

In the recent years, a number of children have used the internet devices. This has been driven by the technological breakthrough in modern society and it has enabled people to get a large amount of information much faster than before. In my strong opinion, the development of computer technology such as a form of the internet has contributed to child study significantly. However, there are several disadvantages too. In this essay, both advantages and disadvantages of computer usage among children will be discussed.

It is important fact that many children are using computer at school and home. Children can access to the website of a particular study field and get plenty of information. They also can discuss issues with other students via the internet. This action promotes children's self-education and positive attitudes towards the study.

However, the internet activities also have negative influence towards children. Inappropriate websites which contain sexual and violent scenes highly affect children. Some scientists suggest that these scenes influence child's mental health and increase the number of crime related to violence. The internet bullying is also serious problem in modern society. This is because a lack of communication caused by excess use of computer affects children's behaviour.

In conclusion, It is important that not only allowing children's using computers but also taking immediate action to solve these negative influences. The government should provide stronger restriction of the certain areas to prevent children accessing, and parents should supervise children's activities on the internet. An increase the opportunity to communicate within family units is also efficient strategy to avoid children's misuse of computers.