A new job; formal qualifications more important than life experience or personal qualities?

Hello, I'm preparing for my upcoming ielts exam which will take place in one month so I really appreciate your time spent reading and giving feedback to my essay. If possible, could you please give me a band score on my writing. My aim is band 7.0. Am i eligible for it?

Work topic [IELTS writing task 2]

Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, recognized qualifications take priority over first-hand experience and personal traits. This tendency, which is caused by a plethora of reasons, is totally negative.

The employers' preference for excellent academic credentials lies in their belief in the education system. This is due to the fact that academic institutions are deemed to be the most reliable place equipping students with in-depth knowledge about their field. After years of schooling, graduates could apply the knowledge acquired into the workplace. Moreover, degrees with honors are often tangible proof of the candidate's diligence and perseverance as it is a real effort to get these degrees.

From my perspective, the recruitment entirely based on postgraduate qualification causes a host of drawbacks. Firstly, universities merely offer theoretical lessons with little or no hands-on experience. Therefore, these students are inflexible and unable to handle with real life obstacles. As a result, the company will suffer since it has to spend a huge sum of money on training newcomers from scratch which can be saved if candidates with years of working are appointed. Secondly, personal virtues should also be considered as essential selection criteria when interviewing job seekers. Managing a group of disloyal and unreliable subordinates, for example, is a touch challenge for administrators.

In conclusion, I argue that apart from qualifications, other measures such as interpersonal skills and the manner at work are integral judgments for the employee-to-be's ability. Therefore, it is recommended that undergraduates should hone their prowess by participating in extra-curriculum activities.

(approximately 260w)