New technologies and ways of buying and selling are transforming the lives of consumers

IELTS wrtitng task 2 -

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Answer :

Undoubtedly, with the advancement of new technologies, the mechanism of buying and selling have evolved. But the question is, to what extent is it transforming the lives of consumers? In my opinion, I agree that the modern-day consumer is radically impacted by this new era of online trading of goods. Not only this allows consumer to save lots of time and is trustworthy, but also provides an job opportunities to skilled people and to path to be entrepreneur. I will amplify this argument by using some suitable examples before drawing a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, today's consumer is living a hectic and time quenched lifestyle, where every minute is imperative. Some of the tech giants with new technologies have produced a platform for buyer and sellers to be able to trade seamlessly in few minutes, which could have taken up to hours incase of traditional shopping where buyer have to physically meet the seller. Additionally, some of these websites take the responsibility of background verification of seller, so that buyer can trust the seller and transaction can occur with 100% customer satisfaction.

For example, Websites like ebay and Amazon allows anyone to opt to be a seller, and people can buy products and services in a single click with utmost amazon guarantee.

Furthermore, these kind of online shopping portals empower people to start a business without taking care of legal formalities and warehouse/shipping expense. Anyone can choose to start selling on these website, and if they are have a quality product/service and they are putting it at a reasonable price, they can earn 5-star rating and excellent reviews by consumers which not only accentuate the brand-value, but help gaining customers confidence. For example, 'available at home on demand' service model adopted by a company called 'Urban clap', opened more than 2000 jobs of women beauticians to work with them. Another example is of Mr. Satya who started with selling silk dress on Amazon.com and now hiss brand 'Smith Silks' have become a popular name.

To conclude, I would say that the emerging technology and new approach for shopping and selling have clearly transformed the lives of consumers, but for the better. And with the popularity of artificial intelligence and machine learning, days won't be far away when features like auto-bargain by computer and virtually try-out of products will be provided.