Newcomers in a foreign country - should they obey local rules and customs?

People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays it is clear that moving to a foreign country has been on demand in recent decades for a variety of reasons. [1] Although preserving national identity is benificial in many ways, I would argue that people should follow the customs and traditions when they immigrate to a new nation.[2]

On the one hand, there are a lot of benefits of conserving national identity when people start to live in a new country. [3] First, each ethnic community has positive character traits, if they can be enhanced, those people can help each other in different problems such as accommodations and jobs.[4] For example, since chinese people often support each other, including startup capital, commercial activity and tourism in Chinatown develop significantly, which increase their income.[5] Second, by maintaining the habit of eating traditional food in foreign nations, people can contribute to the economic development of native country.[6] For instance, if Vietnamese students invite their friends to eat Vietnamese food, especially pho, they might love Vietnamese traditional cuisine, as the result they want to travel to Vietnam, promoting tourism development.[7]

On the other hand, newcomers will face less difficulities in daily life when they adopt the customs and traditions of the country of residence.[8] First, in order for overseas students to participate in extra-curricular activities and make friends easily, they should follow the customs and traditions. [9] This not only help them improve their academic achievement as they can discuss subjects with friends, but also boost their confidence when they apply for jobs.[10] In addition, immigrants might fall foul of the law if they do not respect the behaviour and customs of indigenous people.[11] In singapore, for instance, people will be punished, such as fine and community service, for eating chewing gum.[12]

In conclusion, I would argue that people should follow the customs and tradions of locals but do not forget to express national identity when they settle in a new country.[13] This benefits people themselves as well as the native country. [14]