Newly built houses - ESSAY IELTS WRITING TASK 2

Task 2:

Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that the architectural style of new houses should be the same as that of old buildings in local areas, while others contend that people should be free to design their own style of house. I agree with the second view.

On the one hand, the major reason why modern constructions should follow the style of the old ones is that this helps preserve the tangible cultural heritage, which could boost revenue from tourism industry in these areas. Hoi An, which is one of the most famous ancient towns in Viet Nam, perfectly exemplifies for this situation. In fact, Hoi An has been renowned for old houses in tubular shape, built with traditional architectural ensemble during the 17th century. As a result, Hoi An has become a popular tourist destination that attracts millions of domestic and foreign visitors on an annual basis.

On the other hand, there are strong arguments that people should have the right to choose their own style of house. First, the style of old buildings may not suit some people as each individual has own taste and aesthetic appreciation. Therefore, it is irrational to force people to erect houses in a specific pattern. Second, it would be much cheaper to build a modern simple house rather than one which has to reflect architectural features. This means that traditional construction materials, like wood, tiles and stone are of great difficulty to obtain due to the high cost of them, whereas new houses are built using affordable materials, such as aluminium or plastic.

In conclusion, although it is said that the design of modern and traditional buildings should be the same, I personally think that owners should decide to create their house the way they prefer.