NEWS EDITORS SELECTED WHAT TO SHOW ON TELEVISION AND WHAT TO PRINT IN THE NEWS

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions?

Do we become used to bad news and would it be better if more good news was reported?

A publication that is shown on TV and the article that is imprinted in newspaper has been through a decision making process by the news editors. A plenty of factors which highly possible to influence the decisions, such as the latest occurrence around the globe and a numbers of fascinating concept which attracts public consideration. I do not think if the good news will be reported more frequent than before will give any effects. Because bad news are the one which draw more attention from the audiences than good news.

The predominant factors which affect the decision making of the news editors are, firstly, a sophisticated event, the latest news will be the most awaited broadcast by the viewers. It is due to the curiosity of viewers about what is happening in the other place at that time. They would really like to know the details information to understand enough the truth and latest condition. Secondly, a potential, outstanding and not common idea or concept of a program or an article which is probably fascinating to be enjoyed. As the news editors learn the publicity and article proposed to them to be broadcast and print, they situate their selves as a viewer, if the article is exciting enough to be read and be watched at the first time, it can be the main factor to broadcast or print the idea.

It is a common state to read or watch a bad news in this modern day, but its purpose is to remind us that the world is becoming more danger and the condition itself is getting worse, and tell us what actually happen in the world, in order to be more aware to everything possibly happen. I think the good news is not necessary to be added.

To conclude, the news editors have some provisions to finally decide what should be broadcast on TV or imprint on newspapers. Such as, the up-to-date incident or the interesting concept which is estimated will attract the society's interests. The good news does not need to be added because most of people give a quickly response more to the bad news than the good news.