IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Are newspaper the best way to learn news?

Some people think that newspapers are the best way to learn news. However, others believe that they can learn news better through other media.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Full essay:

People's opinions diverge as to the way humans get access to the latest information. Although newspapers are indeed an excellent source of news, it is by no means the ultimate way to stay informed with news compared with social networking sites.

Admittedly, keeping abreast of data via newspapers provides society with a sum of merits. First off, newspapers are worth confiding in as their data are official sources. In detail, newspapers have to undergo a range of verifications and studies of prestigious journalists before being printed and in order to avoid any mistakes and wrong information. As a result, this source of information has been preserved and stuck to for decades. Furthermore, unlike websites on the Internet, newspapers are well-arranged and clear of advertisements, which prevent people from getting distracted. That is why relying on newspapers is time-consuming and conducive especially to teenagers since they are easily lured towards ads and other attractive offers. Consequently, the coalescence of the aforementioned reasons would lead many to go for write-ups to become knowledgeable.

However, in the tech era, the internet is a more advantageous way for humans to be fully informed about what happens around the world thanks to convenience and evident images. To begin with, finding news on social networks is undemanding since there are myriad articles relating to the concern by several keywords. People who are in a rush in the morning for work, for instance, can gather up-to-the-minute news immediately in their car or at the office free of charge. Some may argue that the internet is not trustworthy yet people can have faith in a host of authentic websites that have maintained their reputations for accurate reports such as BBC News, CNN News, New York Times,... Another reason worth taking into consideration is that social media contains more vital materials in terms of images. Explicitly, viewers are given real-life interviews and vivid sports matches despite not attending. As a result, it is undeniable that mass media play a key role in humans' staying in touch with current and breaking news.

In conclusion, while traditional newspapers have been long trusted and well-organized, I am of the notion that networks attached with depictions could undoubtedly get the upper hand in learning news.