IELTS TASK 2- Newspapers have an enormous influence on people's ideas and opinions.

Q. Newspapers have an enormous influence on people's ideas and opinions. Is it a desirable or undesirable situation?

Newspapers nowadays have become an indispensable part to acquire information compared to other resources in the modern life. Some people advocate that it is beneficial for people to accumulate knowledge, while others consider that it will deprive people of their thoughts. Indeed, in my stance, there are some drawbacks of the newspapers.

The first and most important reason is that people's thoughts are easily influenced by newspapers. That is, people are passive to absorb the information and tend to mimic the opinions from newspapers. For example, people with hustle and bustle lifestyles are too busy to verify the truth of the topics in newspapers. Meanwhile, those information are widely use in every field which has a strong impact on every age. In the long term, people are likely to lose their judgement.

Another reason is that most of newspapers are controlled by political parties and served the authorities. It is easy to provide biased reports and manipulate the reader's prospectives on the vital issues. Furthermore, it is common to use entertainment news or celebrity secrets to divert public's attention away from the government scandals, economic problems, unemployment, crimes and so on. It allows people hardly to focus the main issue and may be harmful to country's development.

In conclusion, newspapers have been integrated into our daily life and has a strong impact on the way people gain knowledge. There is no denying that people will lose their thoughts and ideas if they passively absorb the information from newspapers. For the great regret in lives, people should cast a discriminative eye on it.