Should noise be controlled?

noice impact on people's life

Living in modern society, people can hear a variety of sounds made by traffic, machines or people; however, if these sounds are so loud that individuals can not afford, we would call them "noises". Since noises have been frequently created in human's living environment, it is generally believed that they must be restricted by formal law. On the other hand, there are also some of the liberalism supporters claim such agendas might offence individual's freedom. In this essay, I will mention both side's arguments and concluded with my own opinion.

Noise, defined as a kind of pollution, has more seriously influenced many people's normal life than before, was wished to get rid of life by them. One of the impacts is the decrease of people's quality of life. For example, the sound of a high-speed car made by gangsters at midnight usually interrupts other's sleeping and causes some people not to fall asleep again. If the situation remains for a period of time, it would make them lost energy and decrease their work efficiency. Furthermore, the noise would cause both physical or mental illness, like high blood pressure, heart disease, or anxiety disorder. A medical investigation showed people who live in a noisy environment have much more probability by 50 percent than normal people getting the mental disease.

However, not everyone agrees with the rule to control noise. Those who suggest noise should not be tackled by law think the noise is a normal factor exist around us, just like water, wind sound exists in nature. Additionally, the most noises created in our society are in result from activities which can benefit our lives, like the building constructing, car driving; it will just cause advantages due to the rising cost if we make restrict on the voice of such activities.

In conclusion, although some negative influence might happen if human try to control noises, our society still need to struggle to decrease the creation of noises, for they make more impact on people's normal life. To achieve the purpose of controlling noise, the government have to set the agenda to decrease noise pollution and put the activities which might create loud voice under surveillance. Therefore, people will live in higher quality without noise.