Nothing can be done to prevent crime. To which extent do you agree or not?

Unquestionably, crime has always constituted an acute deterrent to nations' development and security worldwide, which from certain perspectives, are by no means able to be impeded. As far as I concerned, infractions prevention is within our grasp if various methods are executed, such as enhancement of overall living environment of societies and incarceration process.

First of all, the quality of living environment plays a determining role in crime rate of a community. As opposed to those who attain high standard of living, citizens residing in poverty-stricken areas would run a much higher risk of unemployment, poor health care, discrimination and so on. Should sufficient allocation of funds be factored in, people would not turn to illegal activities at the expense of making ends meet. Such investment would not only bring about stabilization of the crime rate in a particular area, but also create equal opportunities for people to obtain, hence improving the overall prosperity and sustainability of a society.

Secondly, authorities should take rehabilitation as a priority over stringent punishments. To illustrate, the vicious cycle of recidivism is a pressing issue for that retribution would constitute a contributor to lawbreakers' tendency of violence rather than expected remorse for their wrongdoings. Above all, the practice of vocational training and life skills education would act as a precursor to offenders' reintegration as they are no longer have to commit crimes to make a living. Moreover, sympathy should be raised towards citizens who used to be inmates, otherwise isolation and discrimination would act as a potential catalyst for repeat offences.

In conclusion, the prevention of law violation is a tough process for societies to go through, but still an attainable goal if proper measures like transformation of the overall living environment and reformation be carried out.