'numerous plus points' - Undesirable consequences of an electronic media? (IELTS Task II)

The use of electronic media has a negative effect on personal relationships between people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the invention of modern technology, people start to behave differently with their peers. It is sometimes argued that the intervention of electronic devices is harmful for their mutual lives. In my opinion, I believe that its interposition has a valuable aspect for people's connection in general.

To begin, people, who argue that the modern media such as computer and mobile phone has a negative effect, may claim that they tend to become selfish beings. In the past, people valued the intimacy of relationship by time spending together with their friends for example. Today, however, modern media rob people's gathering time more than any invention that ever exists before. As a result, modern people may feel lonely and miserable because no strong relationship has ever built.

Although the change, which is produced by the electronic tools, seems disadvantageous, I think that it has positive qualities that people has to consider. First, electronic media creates a possibility of long distance relationship. In the past, it might be impossible to stay connected with friends and families in different continent, but today using video chat such Skype is undoubtedly realistic to meet in screens everyday. Moreover, people can also find a group of people with the same interest and bond a new relationship. This type of relationship which involving the same hobbies will make relationship priceless and last longer.

The aforementioned argument reveals that even though the electronic media may cause undesirable consequence, I believe that it has numerous plus points in most aspect in today's form of relationship.