Obesity is now a major global epidemic. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

The Global Problem of Obesity

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In today's world, our lives have become very sedentary, in the homes and even at our work places. This is why obesity has become very rampant. Easily available fast foods is a huge factor as well as our total dependency on technology such that we can do our jobs, communicate with our loved ones and shop online in the comfort of our homes. This also means that there is a minimal amount of physical activities carried out daily. Healthy eating and more exercises will go a long way in curbing this serious issue.

Foods that contain abundance of fat are incredibly addictive. Substituting them for healthy meals feel like punishments initially but health enthusiasts say that abs are made in the kitchen, that is, foods consumed make up to 80% of what is needed to lose weight. Weight loss is difficult to achieve but taking it step by step will aid in combating obesity. Making deliberate efforts to take a walk every hour will help sedentary workers stay active all day. For example, the Fitbit app alerts users to take a break to walk 250 steps every hour.

Parents can help their children by ensuring that they play outside instead of being on computers, playing video games or watching television all day. Meanwhile, Government should understand that this epidemic is growing out of proportion and thus heavily tax fast food chains and help farmers produce fresh fruits and vegetables.

In conclusion, our sedentary lifestyles and readily availability of fast foods have greatly increased the risk of obesity, however, making bold choices to choose healthy foods and increase in physical activities will help to combat being overweight. Additionally, government giving concessions to farmers will help in ensuring that fruits and vegetables are available to all.