The Odyssey Years, drifting through life without a tangible goal in mind

Hello! I got really bored after analyzing tensors, so I started analyzing something else. This is what came out. I'd really like some feedback.

The odyssey years, as the phrase goes, mean the years of drifting through life without a tangible goal in mind. Rachel, Chandler and Phoebe were depicted to be going through such a phase in the popular sitcom Friends. In fact, most people, except the blessed few, have to deal with it at some point of their lives. It is open to debate as to what causes them to lose the dreams and ambitions they had in their childhood.

As the term implies, people sail through these years without knowing their destination. It is an odyssey through the wilderness of doubts and uncertainties, but one that does not lead to the Promised Land. People change their jobs frequently; take up different courses without knowing whether these will improve their resume and often take up a career which is entirely different from their background. Students experience simultaneous interest and disinterest in their chosen disciplines. The recent trend of taking a "gap year" epitomizes the extent and the gravity of the situation.

So, what are the reasons which make us live our lives like a rudderless boat? The first reason would be an over-dependence on the family. As our each and every want is fulfilled by our parents, we do not feel the need to go in search of one on our own. Secondly, the pressure from our peers motivates us to take up a particular career without giving much thought to its suitability. A third cause, which is more prevalent in countries like India, is the parental pressure. Parents often force children to take up careers which adhere to the social norms (the most common being engineering and medicine). As a result, they soon lose track of their original goals and mechanically work to make their parents happy.

It takes a good deal of self-introspection to come out of this phase. Unlike the adolescent years, these can continue past the middle age. Therefore, it is essential for students and parents to really think about the destination before embarking on the journey. Of course, it helps if you've got Monica, Ross and Joey to guide you.