IELTS: should all offenders be sent to prisons? 'alternative punishment'

Some say all offenders should be sent to prison, other argue that there are better alternatives such as community work for those who commit minor crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have mixed views on how to punish the criminals to lower the crime rate.While some argue that the judge should impose prison sentences to all criminals,I personally disagree with the view and believe that those who commit petty crimes could be reformed in other ways.

On the one hand, criminals should be punished in some way and must learn that unlawful actions have negative consequences. It is undoubtable that prison sentences have a deterrent impact on society, which means it could prevent people from breaking the law, notably those who are contemplating an offense. They tend to abandon their plans due to the fear of losing the freedom, and being separated from their family and friends.However, in my view, it is needless that all the offenders should be condemned to imprisonment. For example, if a deprived child stole food for his family, the better way to reform him would be educated rather than imprisonment.

However , I believe that minor criminals deserve a chance to change themselves by providing social services, such as working for communities, instead of simply being put into prisons.It is widely acknowledged that criminals usually have difficulty in reintegrating into society and finding employment after being released from prisons,which means the lives of those minor criminals could be ruined by their wrongdoing.Therefore, it is more reasonable to rehabilitate them to be better citizens. Furthermore, other alternatives,such as offering community services, are regarded as a form of compensation to society,which could also benefit criminals as they could acquire personal skills and specific job skills.

In conclusion, although imprisonment is an effective method of deterring people from committing crimes, I think minor criminals should be given alternative punishment to make amends.