There is this an old saying: opposite poles attract. The same applies to relationships. Test 3 TOEFL

Question: "It is better to marry someone who is similar to you, rather than someone who is different from you?" Do you agree with this statement?

There is this old saying: opposite poles attract. The saying mainly refers to the attraction between persons with diverse ideals and backgrounds. However, when you ask people who they would marry, you often hear: "the one that is similar to me". In the end, who is right: the old saying or the popular opinion?

Well, it is easy to think that people that have most things in common with us will be the best pattern. However, this has a rather psychological reason: most persons´ personal history determines it to be that way. Our first love tends to be someone with whom we share something; let it be a hobby, a school, a career and such. Also, they often have the same background as us, speak the same language and mostly have the same objectives in life. But it is never the first love the greatest.

Many studies suggest that most divorces come from couples that have had only one partner in their life. It is something evident, if most of us don´t achieve at an activity or task on our first attempt, then how can we expect to choose the right partner the first time? How can we expect to find love if we have only sought our surroundings? It is like a squirrel expecting to find all the nuts in the same tree. Diversity is often healthy for us in our life, and then a diverse couple would also be healthy to have.

In this and many cases, I think that a saying is wiser than an opinion. People often seek partners with different experiences but will rarely admit it. South Americans seek blonde people, European seek the most colored ones. We all seek the rarest things, the hardest to find nearby. Finally, I suggest anyone to marry the one person that is most different from them. Marry someone that studies something else, someone from another culture; that way your marriage will last longer and you´ll enjoy the diversity within.