The older generation tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think, behave

IELTS writing task2- traditional views

The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas do not help prepare younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is sometimes argued that traditional values are useless for young people in this continuing changeable modern world. While I agree with the idea that some of these ideas are unhelpful, I would argue that others are still valuable.

Indeed, some traditional views from the elderly are undeveloped and end up resulting in harmfulness to specific groups. The first unreasonable one is gender biases regarding the condition of the woman. In some of the Arabic nations, women do not have the right to attend schools. Even some of them do have acquired higher education certifications overseas, the proportion of female holding a higher is still low. Second, gender definition is more flexible nowadays. An increasing number of people in the LGBTQ group out of the closet and are willing to show the world who they really are. But such behaviours are completely unacceptable for people holding very traditional ideas. These people tend to believe that either transgender or gay/lesbian is a sin or mental illness. Such opinions limit the right of minorities to some extent. Therefore, there is no place for such ideas in this open-minded era.

However, despite these prejudices, conventional ideas do play a vital and functional role in society, especially for a region's culture. For example, every Chinese read and learn the philosophy of Confucianism, from learning how to enhance the relationship with families, friends or even the world, to behaving brave, honest and gentle, respecting not only the elders but everyone around them. Such values came from 5000 years ago, and still play a central role as a guidebook in Chinese culture. And I do believe that these qualities are still valuable now. Besides, whether an idea is practical or not should be concluded after being practiced.

To sum up, although some of the conservative ideas are useless or even harmful, I would believe that most of them still need to be valued by every generation. In addition, the attitude towards traditional thoughts should not be single-sided, whether useful or not should be proved by human beings and the time.