Nowadays, more and more older people need to compete with the younger people for the same jobs

age competition among the young and old

In recent years, the labour market is becoming more remarkably competitive than before, with the competition between the different ages in search of the same jobs. There are a number of problems that can explain this trend; some solutions need to be implemented to tackle these potential problems.

The chief problem is the employee's real experience. It is obvious that older candidates possess a richer source of experience compared to the younger counterparts who are struggling to find a secure job after graduation. Therefore, recruiters have preferences in hiring aged people which leads to the shortage of work for young generations in job hunting. In addition, the workforce is less productive. Junior workers tend to be more energetic and dynamic; in contrast, the senior workers may have lower levels of productivity due to their health problems or timetables for child rearing.

However, there are a range of possible options to solve the problems. One effective way to deal with this is governments should implement new regulations to decrease the retirement age. Therefore, young generations may alleviate competitive pressures on landing a job. Another answer is that enterprises ought to use both junior and senior employees to create a diversified working environment. Two age groups have the opportunity to learn skills as well as knowledge with each other . This contributes to bringing huge benefits for their firms.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to solve the problems caused by the competition between old generations and younger counterparts.