One day visit to your country -TOEFL independent essay

A foreign visitor has only one day to spend in your country. Where should this visitor go on that day? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your choice.

My country is full of beautiful places; however, it seems to me that a foreign visitor, who can only stay for one day, should visit my city because it takes him one day to learn about several aspects of the culture of my country. In his short trip, he can visit the archeological sites, taste the traditional food and do some shopping in the old market of the city.

In the morning, he should move to the East of the city in order to visit the historical places. I live in place known by its Roman and Numidian ruins. Visiting the archeological places, will give a foreign visitor an opportunity to know about the cultural heritage and learn more about the history of my country. It will also allow him to take some photos there while enjoying the ancient architecture of my ancestors.

After visiting the archeological sites, a visitor must be hungry and ready for tasting the traditional food of my city. Going to one of the famous restaurants and ordering some traditional dishes will be a great idea. For instance, he can order couscous, which is a delicious dish made of steamed semolina and served with meat and vegetables. Tasting new food and knowing the different flavors of my country's cuisine makes part of this exciting trip.

Finally, after having lunch, it would be a great idea to the visitor to do some shopping in the old market. This visit will enable him to know more about the traditional industry of my country. He can find there a lot of antiques, colorful carpets, traditional clothes, etc. Moreover, he can buy some souvenirs and gifts to his family and friends. This will be the last activity in his short trip.

By a way of conclusion, based on the reasons explored above, I believe that a trip to my city is the best choice for any foreigner who wants to spend one day in a different country and learn a lot about it. In my city, visitors can enjoy not only seeing the archeological places but also savoring the delicious traditional dishes and buying beautiful souvenirs which will remind them of their unforgettable visit forever.