One of the most intensely debated topics in education is the types of subjects need to be studied

Topic: Usually students have to study a range of different subjects. Some people believe that learning subjects without being interested in them won't be beneficial. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the most intensely debated topics in education is the types of subjects need to be studied. Today, we are witnessing that a broad range of course work subjects are provided for students, especially primary and high school pupils. Some people believe that the disparity of subjects would be a discouraging element which prevents student from pursuing their interests. Thus, they come forth with the idea that schools must concentrate only on the subjects students are really willing to study. From my perspective, however, the diversity of subjects would contribute to the formation of a stronger education system.

Although the critics of the variety of subjects centre their discussion on students' interests, students need a wide range of subjects to learn about the topics they are enthusiastic about. Human beings explore their interests and talents through a trial and error process. Taking different subjects is a part of this process. How can we find out which student is good in mathematics and the other one in biology without teaching them both the subjects at the same time? In short, studying various subjects would help students to discover their interests and their prowess in different fields of studies.

Today we live in a world where all scientific topics are somehow related to each other, so that studying various subjects in schools is a must. For example, physical activities are in a direct relationship with our body condition. Hence, if a student is interested to have a profession as an athlete he/she needs to know about foods, nutrition and the functionality of cardiovascular system. At the first sight each of these topics are irrelevant, but if we look deeper we can connect each part of the puzzle to the other one.

Finally, some skills are taught in schools in the form of subjects, which are not real science but they are needed to be improved. For instance, teaching how to write an essay seems boring for people who gravitate to experimental studies, like physics or chemistry. However, these individuals need to ameliorate their writing skills to a level that allows them write a research paper, if they seek to publish their data in a journal.

In the light of the aforementioned facts, students are required to study as many subjects as they can, if they want to recognize their capabilities and interests. Furthermore, they need to have knowledge about various subjects, since in the world we live in all areas of studies are intertwined. If we follow this educational policy, I expect a brighter future for students.