What is one kind of plant that is important to you or the people in your country? (wheat)

Plants can provide food, shelter, clothing, or medicine. What is one kind of plant that is important to you or the people in your country? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice.

Plants are necessary for the survival of humans. Green plants, which possess chlorophyll take part in photosynthesis and release oxygen. Thus, both humans and animals are dependent on them. Plants are a major source of food and metabolic energy. Plants also contribute to the basic needs. For example, they provide paper, fiber, medicines, timber etc. Additionally, plants help in filtering air and provide a cleaner environment. Wheat is the second staple food in India and is consumed by millions of Indians. In my view, it is the most important plant to the people of my country for two reasons which I have explained below.

First, wheat is a source of income to many farmers and has contributed to the economic development of my country. India is the fourth largest in the world in terms of wheat production after USA, Russia and China. It is mostly produced in north and north western parts of the country. Uttar Pradesh, Punjab and Madhya Pradesh are the top producing states which are now referred as "Granary regions of India". With more than a million farmers dependent on wheat production, it is a source of income to them. There has been an increase in the wheat exports which has contributed to the economic growth of India and upliftment of the rural areas. The favorable temperature conditions for this rabi crop and increased consumption has enabled surplus production. Hence, increased income for the farmers and higher revenues for the country.

Second, wheat provides many other benefits. Flour from hard wheats is rich in gluten and is used in production of bread, flour, biscuits and cereals. Several health benefits of wheat have been suggested. For example, a recent research claimed that it can help reduce the chances of a heart attack .The wheat bran and wheat germ is main source of vitamins and minerals and provides essential nutrients for the growth and the development of body. Wheat is also used in alcohol industry along with molasses from sugarcane. It is also used as a fodder for livestock. Wheat is a source of starch for sizing paper and cloth. Therefore, wheat has both health benefits and commercial value.

In conclusion, wheat is the most important plant to me and the people of my country. It is the staple food of many Indians and a source of livelihood. Many farmers are dependent on wheat production for income. Wheat exports have contributed to the economic growth of the country. Apart from these, wheat has a commercial value and have many health benefits.