One national cirriculum is forcing students to study materials they dont want to

Could you please rate this essay for GRE Analytical Writing.

A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I do not agree to the idea that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum intill they enter college. This is because students have varied interests and want to purse different careers. So all of them would require different background knowledge on their subjects that they shall be studying in college. Making them study the same national cirriculum would be forcing a student to study it.

For instance, in Nepal, students are not compelled to study the same national curriculum until college. Each student is free to take up either the Nepal National Board or Cambridge A Levels. A levels course offers varied courses on ranging from Further Mathematics to French. This allows the students to choose their careers earlier and get a head start. The student grasp up the basics of the subject before college itself. This will not only keep the student motivated but also give him a fair open minded descision on his subject.

For example, a student who wants to study sports sciences in college would not really need a chemistry course till his education untill college. The student would have to waste time on subject matters he is not interested in. Let alone doing well, the student's passing would come into question and is it the student to be blamed or the curriculum board that forced the student to study what he/she is not interested in.Also, this would not motivate the student to his career opportunities and rather make him frivolous. He should be given a free choice on to which subject he wants to take up for further education and should be allowed to study those subjects from earlier classes as well.

Letting the students make choices from earlier on makes them bold for later as well. Giving them the freedom to choose from the subject matter from early on gives them the freedom of choosing from a various range of subjets by testing them beforehand. One would say that students would be naive and wouldnt be able to choose their career during such an early age, but that would be undermining the potential of the best ones out there as well.

There have been many instances of students dropping out from colleges or universities because they were forced to study materials they didnt want to. Also many students get stuck up before high school unable to clear the subjects that they never opted to study. Thus it would not be a wise desicion for the nation to require all of its students to study the same national curriculum untill they enter college.