One set fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient.

Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

It is commonly considered by many that whether punishments for crimes should be fixed.Although there are some disadvantages of fixed punishments,I believe that it is better to judge each crime individually.

There are some positive outcomes for having one set punishment for each crime.First of all,the system of fixed punishment for each crime would be dissuasive from offending crime because,during imprisonment,being inmate with somebody who are killer is too scary for a robber.Secondly, discriminated against ordinary people may disappear and celebrities and politicians could be judged the some way.This means will be no more complaints about the corrupt justice system due to the class discrimination among people.

However,I would argue that the circumstances of a crime and offender's motivation should have an influence on the punishments.For example,stealing to feed a family cannot be treated the same way as stealing for profit.In such cases,only the judge who takes all additional information about the crime into the consideration can give the best response.Admittedly,the jury can also decide whether an offender had evil intentions or just tried to survive.As a result,this approach would make a more humane justice system.

In conclusion,despite the disadvantages of fixed punishments,it seems to me that each crime should be judge taking both the circumstances and motivation into account.