Online courses in university vs campus classes - impacts on students' learning outcomes

Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Most universities tend to integrate technology into classroom learning and teaching so more and more online course are published in the Internet and replace the face-to face class .From my perspective, this trend has both negative and positive impacts on students' learning outcomes because of some ideas which are shown below.

On the one hand, offering online courses at university can be beneficial in several ways. Firstly, this way of learning allow students to study at home. Due to the proliferation of the Internet, a myriad of learner are able to access the online learning with the flexible learning schedules. Furthermore , lower costs and the widespread presence of the Internet offer the unlimited numbers of participants regardless of not only their financial demanding but also current living places. Hoc24h is the prime example, which yield the reasonable-priced online courses for all indigent students in Vietnam.

On the other hand, online courses are a poor substitute for traditional classes delivered at university. Without being regular-face-to-face interaction with teacher in class , this can lead to the lower learning outcome for students. During the course, they rarely make friend and compete with their virtual friend on the internet so they can feel lack of motivation and stimuli for scholastic success. Moreover, some student could be exploited by some unworthy and counterfeit online course. Because of lack of control on the quantity, some students feel sense of confusion on the suitable class ,even they can be taken advantages for the financial problem.

In conclusion, having online courses available to choose from while at university benefits students in a number of ways. However, their drawbacks in terms of decreased learning outcomes should be accounted for