Has online social networking helped us or harmed us?

advantages and disadvantages of social networking

Social networking has become a major part of our society. It enables people from all over the world to connect with each other, share information and send messages. Since people are spending more and more time surfing social networks, it is important to find out that social networking affects our lives in a positive or negative way. From my point of view, social networking unfortunately does more harm than good.

First of all, social networking is possibly addictive. Many people wake up each day and check social websites first instead of reaching for a newspaper. Some are obsessed by social networks and ofter go online with their phones almost every hour to have their status updated. As a consequence, they can easily get distracted during work or lessons. Another drawback to social networking is that some users share too much information without being aware of the fact that there are stalkers, cyber-bullies who can use such information to blackmail them and even gain ransom. Even if a user of a social site has her privacy setting on the highest level, her informaatuon can still be passed on by someone on her friend list. The victims of blackmail and cyber-bullying may have to face stress, depression or even mental breakdown. In addition, there is an extensive range of mental and health problems known to be caused by spending too much time on social network.

To sum up, the disadvantages of social networking outweighs the advantages. While social media are increasingly becoming an inevitable part of our lives, we have to be cautious not to be dependent on it since it could lead to unexpected problems.