Ontario staffing job for teaching English suddenly fell down (2005-2007 timeframe) to just under 30%

The line graph reveals the percentage of new graduates who found jobs as teachers of English and French in Ontario over a six year period from 2001 to 2007. According to the data, the employment for English-language educators decreased significantly during the period. On the other hand, a trend for French-language teachers witnessed a slight increase with a part of fluctuation. Overall, it can be seen that recruitment for those who teach English became less than before while French teachers experienced a rapid rise from 2001 to 2007.

In the first two years, the proportion of English educators fell from just over 72 per cent to 40 per cent. Data of French teachers, however, went up and down in this period. In the three following years, there was a stable trend not only for the number of English educators but also for French language educators in around 40 per cent and 70 per cent.

Unfortunately, staffing job for teaching English suddenly fell down again to just under 30 per cent from 2005 to 2007. In fact, profession as French teachers decreased of about 3 per cent in 2006 but it peaked at in the end of the period.