IELTS Writing task 2: Opinion essay about "advertising"

Prompt:

Advertising is all around us; it is an unavoidable part of everyone's life.

Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many types of advertising, such as online advertising and tele-advertising, become significantly popular and affect to almost every people's lives. While several people assume that there are positive parts of advertising related to everyone's life, I do believe that the effect of advertising is seldom the case.

There are several reasons that advertising activities could bring benefits to our lives. Firstly, people do advertisements under forms of commercial or online usually put in an array of details that entertains potential customers. Secondly, advertisements provide numerous features of new products, therefore, customers can easily approach to the products that suit their pocket. For example, I remembered that I decided to buy detergent from OMO brand for trials after one time I have watched their commercial advert due to the useful features of new products and the reasonable price. Finally, people are wary of buying things after watching many types of similar advertisements, thus, they could save their budget for more important tasks.

In my opinion, I do believe that authorities should consider managing advertising activities due to their negatives to people's lives. Many types of advertisements are brought to customer intensively, such as pop-ups when people are online, and therefore it is very intrusive to people privacy. Moreover, people can be easily swayed by advertising, especially with type of celebrity endorsement. For example, when you have idols advertising for a brand, you usually do not consider the quality of the product and buy goods impulsively. Also, the frequency of advertisements is crowded on both commercial, online and telephone source, people may get bewildering in choosing products.

In conclusion, while it is true that advertising are tolerated to be an essential parts of our lives, I believe that there are still several negative impact of advertising on people's lives, in term of stress and the false fulfillment.