Ielts: Opinion on animal experimentation; Should continue!

Topic: Some people strongly oppose animal experimentation, believing that it causes pain to animals, while some other people consider it necessary. What is your opinion?

People hold different views towards the necessity and humane feature of current animal testing. In my opinion, both human and animals are capable of deriving enormous benefits from this sort of experimentation and thereby, it is suggested to be enhanced.

To begin with, the advantages of vivisection to human are most prominent in the field of medicine and education. For instance, various types of animals such as pigs and mice have been significantly used in testing new kinds of drugs by dint of possessing similar biological features to those of human. Some drug prototypes are theoretically effective but whether there are any side effects in reality is rather unknown. In these cases, the use of animals in checking pharmaceuticals is essential prior to applying in persons. Additionally, many animal-based researches have been conducted inside educational institutions have provided new insights into the evolution of animals. Briefly, animal testing helps to advance our medical and scientific knowledge.

Equally importantly is that, animal testing are beneficial to wildlife species for many reasons. Firstly, by carrying out genetic experiments do scientists potentially offer some solutions for the endangered species. It is true that a wide variety of animals are on the verge of extinction owing to the loss of natural habitats or increasing pollutants. With the results of animal research, this issue will probably be tackled. Furthermore, examining ethology will provide an outlet for controlling some species in particular patterns. For example, nowadays it is applicable to increase the likelihood of animal survival in natural environment. Accordingly, animal experimentation has a positive impact on animals themselves.

To sum up, animal testing plays a significant role in the well-being of both human beings and animals. Therefore, animal vivisection should continue rather than being suppressed in the future.